Call Us Now

New MOT Changes In May 2018

MOT test changes May 2018

What does MOT stand for?

MOT stands for Ministry of transport, it is an annual test carried out on vehicles, and is a requirement in the UK.
A MOT is required for any vehicle which is used on a public highway, defined as a ‘road’ in the Road Traffic Act 1988.
The test is for vehicle safety, road worthiness and exhaust emissions, all vehicles over 3 years in age require an MOT, however vehicles of a certain vintage age do not require an MOT. The MOT test has been in place for almost 60 years, and has undergone many changes to keep up with modern vehicles.

In May, what changes to the MOT test were brought in?

To make things a bit easier to understand all cars that go through a MOT test will have their faults judged against new Minor, Major and Dangerous Defect categories, with Major and dangerous defects causing an automatic fail. Any Minor defects will be clearly shown - The car has passed the MOT test with defects - this is to urge owners to repair the defects as soon as possible.

MOT Changes in May see a new Test certificate

Clear DPF Checks in the May MOT change

Diesel vehicles will see strong checks on DPF’s (diesel particulate filter) more information on DPF’s can be found here. If any diesel vehicle emits ‘visible’ smoke of any colour during a metered check they will be given a Major defect and automatic fail. MOT testers will checking to see if any tampering to the filter has taken place, if foul play is detected again a Major defect will be imposed. If a DPF canister has obviously cut open and rewelded the MOT Tester must refuse to carry out an MOT, unless the owner can give a valid reason as to why the tampering has occurred. Other new checks will be on AdBlue (Diesel exhaust fluid).

Other changes to the MOT test include the checking of systems, brake pads and disks, prop shafts, bumpers and daytime running lights.

MOT May changes include new fault categories

The new fault categories are Minor, Major and dangerous categories these apply to all vehicles. This has been brought in to meet a dew EU directive ‘The European Union Roadworthiness Package.

MOT May Changes see daytime running lights tested What are the new categories meanings?

  • Minor Fault Category: “no significant effect on the safety of the vehicle or impact on the environment” Although a minor fault this will be clearly shown on the test certificate and owners are advised t amend as soon as possible.
  • Major Fault Category: “may affect the vehicle’s safety, put other road users at risk or have an impact on the environment.”
  • Dangerous Fault Category: “a direct and immediate risk to road safety or has a serious impact on the environment.” This is an automatic fail.

Previous categories which are still in place:

  • Advisory Category: “It could become more serious in the future. Monitor and repair it if necessary.”
  • Pass Category: “It meets the minimum legal standard. Make sure it continues to meet the standard.”
New MOT rules for older cars

The latest change in the MOT testing rules now see vehicles which have not been substantially changed and are aged over 40 not requiring an MOT.

For example If a car was first registered on the 31st May 1978, it will not now require an MOT.